a menu with a touch of spice

Standard

Emelkisir A few years ago I was reading an article and came across an incredibly smart idea: What if you organized your menu plan into a spreadsheet that you could also use as your shopping list? What an awesome idea, I thought, and I have since used Friday afternoons or Saturday mornings to plan the week’s menu and shopping list too! Next week will begin with a menu for dear friends who share a passion for nature, sports and travelling. The menu will have a touch of spice from Turkey (a zucchini delice, grilled eggplants with pine nuts, a bulgur salad and chicken marinated in olive oil, milk with… a touch of spice). Two of these recipes are featured in ‘A squirrel in your kitchen’ and I would like to share these with you. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AYXN500 The first recipe is a bulgur salad from the kitchen of a beloved friend, Emel Ertas in Turkey and the second is a succulent chicken recipe which you have to stay tuned for till tomorrow.

BULGUR SALAD
Ingredients
½ – ¾ cup bulgur (used for meatballs)
(the tiniest version of cracked wheat, koftelik bulgur)
parsley
green peppers
onions
greens of your preference: lettuce, fennel, raw cabbage
olive oil
lemon juice, or, vinegar, or, pomegranate sour sauce
salt and pepper
Preparation
Slice all the greens into small pieces and put them in a bowl. Pour boiling hot water on top of the mini bulgur – (water should be 2 cm over the bulgur level). Wait until the bulgur absorbs all the water and is soft, and finally mix in the greens. Add olive oil, lemon juice (or vinegar, or sour pomegranate sauce), salt and pepper, and… it’s ready to eat!
About Emel
It is the simple things which connect international students in a foreign land, yet, it is those simple things which stay with us for life… Certain fears and anxieties, those first illegal drinks at fraternity parties, talent shows at International Day gatherings and… all-nighters, talking about everything and nothing…Although Emel and I had kept in touch during the first years following our graduation, we lost contact for many years thereafter. Who would’ve thought that after so many years, we would re-unite in Constantinople, or, Istanbul, as the rest of the world knows it? This special old friend had planned the perfect vacation not just for me, but the friends whom I was travelling with. We relished a series of wonderful culinary experiences, explored the mystique of Bosphorus by dark, and danced the night away under the moon of Istanbul. It was truly an experience of the senses. But, above all, I had a chance to spend some quality time with my friend, 15 years into maturity and wider horizons with fewer barriers…
About Mahi S

I was born on the island of Cyprus in 1971. For years, I lived the life of a nomad: I grew up in the Arab Gulf, finished high school in Cyprus, then went to the U.S. for five remarkable, life-changing years of study and work in public relations. With every change of home, I was confronted with the challenge of separation and the issue of identity, but ultimately the rewarding experience of interacting with people of different cultures has informed my life ever since. It inspired me to create an ideal setting wherever I found myself, to live meaningfully and use passion as the main ingredient in my life. I run to keep myself motivated and to fire the kind of creative thinking that keeps me balanced and content. But it’s also an ongoing challenge: since 1999, I have completed 17 half-marathons, which I try to run in a different city every time. In fact, running and travel are the two pillars of my life philosophy: “Travel is fascinating, whether it’s about a series of mesmerizing destinations or a journey within myself”. “Running keeps me sane, motivated and focused!” Right now, I am focusing on promoting my new book, ‘A squirrel in your kitchen’ an e-cookbook with quick, easy and delicious recipes (and anecdotes) from dearest friends around the world. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AYXN500. I am also hoping to experience the fascinating challenge of a full marathon in 2016; in Athens or New York. We’ll see!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

