a special tribute to Kris Carr

Standard
KrisCarrIn March 2008 I was on the plane when I came across a truly inspiring article about Kris Carr. For those who do not know her, she was diagnosed with a very rare and incurable stage IV cancer.
‘This sparked a deep desire in me to stop holding back and start living like I mean it! I wanted to feel better, love harder and enjoy my life more fully. So I hit the road on a deep healing pilgrimage and have never looked back. Nearly ten years later, my life is truly, madly magical–even with cancer. ‘ Kris  says.
 
Kris is a wellness activist and has been a TRUE inspiration since the day she walked into my life. I read her blog daily and I introduce her work to friends and family who ‘walk’ upon the arduous path of cancer. I have read her wonderful book ‘Crazy, Sexy Cancer tips’ and loved her documentary while her ‘Crazy Sexy Diet’ and ‘Crazy Sexy Kitchen’ are also in my Wellness  Collection. Today I would like to pay tribute to this awesome lady as she celebrates 10 years of transformation since that wake up call into WELLNESS and simply say THANK YOU! Below is her blog post from this week as she celebrates 10 years of THRIVING. Happy Birthday Kris from my little Mediterranean corner!!
What I learned transformed my life forever – now it can transform yours. My journey has ignited a global wellness revolution that’s resonated with thousands of health, spiritual wealth and happiness seekers. Ten years ago, this week, I was given exactly ten years to live. Stage IV cancer, no cure, no treatment, no options. Thankfully my expiration date was inaccurate. Like many people diagnosed with cancer, my life drastically changed that day. A decade later I can honestly say that cancer changed my life for the brighter and better. In this blog, I’ve reflected on ten tips that helped me and can help you too (whether you’ve been diagnosed with a chronic poop pickle or not). You’ve heard me say many of these things before, but they bear repeating. As I meditate on the impact that illness has had on my life, I realize I’m a better, more grateful woman today because of cancer. I was asleep at the wheel before cancer shook me awake. And though there’s still no cure (yup, rare diseases don’t get much attention), I continue to live harmoniously with cancer. Once every year and a half I get scanned (hmmm, I think I have one coming up this summer, I forget), otherwise I just live my life. It’s not always easy, but it is my life, and I love it. For me, cancer isn’t a death sentence, at least not today. My disease is the slow-moving-could-get-aggressive-one-day variety. It’s weird and unknown. Above all, cancer is a spiritual practice that teaches me about faith and resilience. You can learn these skills too. You don’t need cancer to wake you up like I did.
I hope some of these tips resonate with you. And remember, when the going gets tough, take a really deep breath and … read my blog http://kriscarr.com/blog
About Mahi S

I was born on the island of Cyprus in 1971. For years, I lived the life of a nomad: I grew up in the Arab Gulf, finished high school in Cyprus, then went to the U.S. for five remarkable, life-changing years of study and work in public relations. With every change of home, I was confronted with the challenge of separation and the issue of identity, but ultimately the rewarding experience of interacting with people of different cultures has informed my life ever since. It inspired me to create an ideal setting wherever I found myself, to live meaningfully and use passion as the main ingredient in my life. I run to keep myself motivated and to fire the kind of creative thinking that keeps me balanced and content. But it’s also an ongoing challenge: since 1999, I have completed 17 half-marathons, which I try to run in a different city every time. In fact, running and travel are the two pillars of my life philosophy: “Travel is fascinating, whether it’s about a series of mesmerizing destinations or a journey within myself”. “Running keeps me sane, motivated and focused!” Right now, I am focusing on promoting my new book, ‘A squirrel in your kitchen’ an e-cookbook with quick, easy and delicious recipes (and anecdotes) from dearest friends around the world. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AYXN500. I am also hoping to experience the fascinating challenge of a full marathon in 2016; in Athens or New York. We’ll see!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: a special tribute to Kris Carr « Mahi Solomou

  2. Pingback: the cook(book)ing school: from my “healthy books to read in 2013″ list – crazy sexy diet by kris carr | the cook(book)ing school

Leave a Reply

