a special friend and a special recipe…

Standard
friend-2
 
 
‘Respect those friends who find time for you in their busy schedule. But really love those friends who never see their schedule when you need them..’ Rishika Jain
 
Friendships always hold a special place in my heart. Whether they are a friendship of the past, the present or a friendship oceans apart, what’s important is to cherish and treasure those moments and experiences shared. Today, I would like to pay special tribute to a friend, fellow runner and guardian angel in so many ways… Because, when the going gets tough, she will guide me to the light, and on days when my body does not respond well to running, she will take a detour in the park to show me the flowers in bloom… And when none of this works, she will simply send her three little gems to give me a bear hug!
Below is what I wrote about this friend, to accompany her appetizing pesto chicken recipe in ‘A Squirrel in your kitchen’.
http://www.amazon.com/A-squirrel-your-kitchen-ebook/dp/B00AYXN500
 
I have saved her recipe for the finale of this post. After all, sharing recipes and meals always adds an extra touch of spice to friendship!
 
 If there’s one word to describe this dear friend, that would be endurance! Maria completed the classic Athens Marathon with husband, Achilleas and numerous half marathons around the world, not to mention mountain biking in the trails of Akamas. Maria and Achilleas tend to take their most important decisions over food, and, a nice bottle of wine. I had witnessed a very serious conversation over an exotic meal one night, where they unanimously agreed that it was time for a second baby, as it was only fair that Alexandra had a sibling! On April 21, 2008 (my birthday), Aris and Orpheus were born! And while they certainly do keep Alexandra ‘company’, they keep mommy and daddy…. hmm.. busy. Maria’s survival tool lies in running, and as my running mate in the last 10 years, I couldn’t agree with her more! And, when the going gets tough, Maria finds her solace in the luxurious world of champagne and great wine!
 
PESTO CHICKEN WITH FETA CHEESE
pesto-ranch-chicken
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ingredients: 4 boneless chicken thighs, pesto sauce, 4 slices feta cheese
 
Preparation
Unfold the chicken thighs and apply pesto sauce on both sides. Place a slice of feta cheese in each thigh and fold back to original shape. You may use a toothpick to hold the chicken piece folded. Place on a cooking tray and cook at 175ºC for 45 minutes to an hour.
About Mahi S

I was born on the island of Cyprus in 1971. For years, I lived the life of a nomad: I grew up in the Arab Gulf, finished high school in Cyprus, then went to the U.S. for five remarkable, life-changing years of study and work in public relations. With every change of home, I was confronted with the challenge of separation and the issue of identity, but ultimately the rewarding experience of interacting with people of different cultures has informed my life ever since. It inspired me to create an ideal setting wherever I found myself, to live meaningfully and use passion as the main ingredient in my life. I run to keep myself motivated and to fire the kind of creative thinking that keeps me balanced and content. But it’s also an ongoing challenge: since 1999, I have completed 17 half-marathons, which I try to run in a different city every time. In fact, running and travel are the two pillars of my life philosophy: “Travel is fascinating, whether it’s about a series of mesmerizing destinations or a journey within myself”. “Running keeps me sane, motivated and focused!” Right now, I am focusing on promoting my new book, ‘A squirrel in your kitchen’ an e-cookbook with quick, easy and delicious recipes (and anecdotes) from dearest friends around the world. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AYXN500. I am also hoping to experience the fascinating challenge of a full marathon in 2016; in Athens or New York. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

