a celebration of phenomenal women

Standard
AnaFrank
‘The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quiet, alone with the heavens, nature and God. Because only then does one feel that all is as it should be.
Anne Frank
 
In 2010, Anne Frank was voted “Most Inspiring Woman” in a survey to mark International Women’s Day.
“I must hold on to my ideals. Perhaps the day will come when I’ll be able to realize them,” Anne wrote in her diary. Anne’s life and diary continue to act as an inspiration 68 years after her demise and I would like to pay special tribute to this phenomenal human being with such a gracious spirit!
 
In celebration of Women’s Day last year, I asked my friends to share with me their favorite quotes- whether borrowed, or their own. Below is a selection of these quotes with a toast to all wonderful women in my path…. Happy Women’s Day to all of you Phenomenal Ladies!
 
 “My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.” Maya Angelou
 
Life is a one-time shot. You don’t get time to have a rehearsal. This is your time to live it! There are no second chances!’ – Olympia Dukakis
 
The emotional status of a woman is the earthquake of every household.  Peace within…..Peace at home”.  – Tasoula Hadjitofi
 
‘A woman is a miracle for she can create many. May we create miracles in all aspects of life.’ – Christi Karydou
 
 “In this world, there are things you can only do alone, and things you can only do with somebody else. It’s important to combine the two in just the right amount…” – Haruki Murakami 
 and I add..  “….so that others would want to be part of you, but most importantly, so that you would want to be part of you!” – Myria Karydou
 
‘If someone consciously chooses to walk or run at the park rather than go on a lavish shopping spree, then this person is on the right track!’  – Maria Kyriacou
 
“Our attitude toward life determines life’s attitude towards us.” –Lilia Larcou
  
Something my grandfather told me was “treat others like you would want them to treat you” and “live every day as if it’s your last- never leave bad feelings/ words with someone you love”. Also very important, and this comes from me: ‘be a good listener. Be a good listener at work with colleagues, with your husband, with your children at home and with your friends. Only then will you be able to truly give advice, avoid a fight, manage to hold words that shouldn’t be said.’ – Laura Koumas
About Mahi S

I was born on the island of Cyprus in 1971. For years, I lived the life of a nomad: I grew up in the Arab Gulf, finished high school in Cyprus, then went to the U.S. for five remarkable, life-changing years of study and work in public relations. With every change of home, I was confronted with the challenge of separation and the issue of identity, but ultimately the rewarding experience of interacting with people of different cultures has informed my life ever since. It inspired me to create an ideal setting wherever I found myself, to live meaningfully and use passion as the main ingredient in my life. I run to keep myself motivated and to fire the kind of creative thinking that keeps me balanced and content. But it’s also an ongoing challenge: since 1999, I have completed 17 half-marathons, which I try to run in a different city every time. In fact, running and travel are the two pillars of my life philosophy: “Travel is fascinating, whether it’s about a series of mesmerizing destinations or a journey within myself”. “Running keeps me sane, motivated and focused!” Right now, I am focusing on promoting my new book, ‘A squirrel in your kitchen’ an e-cookbook with quick, easy and delicious recipes (and anecdotes) from dearest friends around the world. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AYXN500. I am also hoping to experience the fascinating challenge of a full marathon in 2016; in Athens or New York. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

