Believe, dream, achieve @TEDxChange

Standard
HalimatouHima
 
It’s the morning after TEDxChange and certain words are still resonating in my head: believe, dream, achieve, illimi, factivism… The theme ‘positive disruption’ undoubtedly sparked inspiration, discussion and debate in addition to giving us plenty of food for thought and a moment of epiphany. Topics ranged from social change to children saving lives in the slums of Calcutta. Halimatou Hima, who hails from Niger, spoke about investing in girls. Today, she is one of Africa’s 25 top emerging women, yet to reach to that destination, she embarked on a long journey filled with countless challenges and stumbling blocks. Nonetheless, she kept ‘walking’ using as step stones her great grandmother’s legacy, mere determination and ‘illimi’- what she describes as ‘search for knowledge with humility and purpose’. Without doubt, Halimatou Hima endowed my soul with that moment of epiphany. Thank you Halimatou Hima Moussa Dioula!
 
Some friends who were not able to attend yesterday’s TEDxNicosiaChange event, have asked me to post my introduction to the event: my story of change through my TEDxNicosia journey.
In light of TEDxChange, I would like to share my personal story of ‘change’ through my TEDxNicosia journey. In November 2011, I was amongst the very enthusiastic audience at the first TEDxNicosia event. I was inspired and intrigued by the speakers as well as the conversations and debates we had on the day. Creativity, innovation and passion- what I consider as 3 main ingredients of life- were right there at the TEDx platform, encouraging people to think outside of the box. A few months later, I expressed my interest to be part of the TEDxNicosia team and was able to ‘change’ hats from spectator to that of PR & Communications. I have been working with an incredible team, and together, we helped put up the 2nd TEDxNicosia event, which intrigued people to Re-Think, Re-Generate and Re-Act. Today’s event is about change and positive disruption. Change can be scary, and not always easy to accept, however it is possible. For real change to happen, we sometimes need a shake-up, and what Cyprus is going through at present is exactly that. Positive disruption can actually help us see the light! Through this global platform today, I am personally hoping to have that moment of epiphany so that I can walk out of here with even more clarity on my own positive disruption.
About Mahi S

I was born on the island of Cyprus in 1971. For years, I lived the life of a nomad: I grew up in the Arab Gulf, finished high school in Cyprus, then went to the U.S. for five remarkable, life-changing years of study and work in public relations. With every change of home, I was confronted with the challenge of separation and the issue of identity, but ultimately the rewarding experience of interacting with people of different cultures has informed my life ever since. It inspired me to create an ideal setting wherever I found myself, to live meaningfully and use passion as the main ingredient in my life. I run to keep myself motivated and to fire the kind of creative thinking that keeps me balanced and content. But it’s also an ongoing challenge: since 1999, I have completed 17 half-marathons, which I try to run in a different city every time. In fact, running and travel are the two pillars of my life philosophy: “Travel is fascinating, whether it’s about a series of mesmerizing destinations or a journey within myself”. “Running keeps me sane, motivated and focused!” Right now, I am focusing on promoting my new book, ‘A squirrel in your kitchen’ an e-cookbook with quick, easy and delicious recipes (and anecdotes) from dearest friends around the world. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AYXN500. I am also hoping to experience the fascinating challenge of a full marathon in 2016; in Athens or New York. We’ll see!

2 responses »

  1. What a lovely post. I am honored that my words reached places across oceans and touched the hearts of people I may never meet. Thank you for the post. Best, Halimatou

Leave a Reply

