a little spring cleaning

Standard
Spring-Blossom-Sunshine
 
Spring cleaning applies to so much more than just wardrobes and cabinets. Spring cleaning of the body and mind tend to come naturally in the spring. 
 
Outdoor sports become more enjoyable in glorious weather, with nature decked in all colors and I keep getting the impression that nature is smiling back at me.
 
Spring also tends to unsurface the need to detox. While I normally detox with fruits and vegetables, I came across an awesome detox plan a few weeks ago, and after sipping on it for 5 days, the results were amazing so I wanted to share this with you.
This drink will help you get rid of toxins, boost your energy, and act as an anti-inflamatory agent- not to mention that it will help you lose an inch or two!
 
detox
 
Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp Turmeric
  • 1Tbsp Ginger
  • 1/2-1 tsp Cayenne
  • 5 Tbsp lemon juice
  • optional Stevia to taste, or maple syrup.
  • 32 oz. warm water

Preparation

  1. Boil 32 ounces of water in a tea kettle, once it boils remove it from heat and set it aside.
  2. Add spices and lemon juice to a pitcher or container that holds at least 32 ounces of water.  Once the water has cooled a bit( you don’t want to add boiling water into the mixture, this will breakdown some of the benefits of the lemon) add it to the pitcher.  Give the mixture a good stir and sip on it throughout the day.  As the potion sits the spices will fall to the bottom, you can stir it each time your pour yourself more, and always add some more warm water if it gets too spicy for you.  Add stevia or maple syrup to sweeten it if necessary.
Below is an explanation of the health benefits of all ingredients based on  The Encyclopedia of Healing Foods by Michael Murray M.D.

Turmeric-The major health benefits of Turmeric start with it being a strong anti-inflammatory spice.  Turmeric has been used in Chinese and Indian systems of medicine for centuries and is now becoming popular in the Western world to treat various  symptoms.

Ginger- Ginger has been used in herbal medicine to help promote the elimination of intestinal gas, and intestinal spasmolytic, which helps relax and soothe the intestinal tract. Adding this spice to this drink will help your body eliminate waste naturally, and get rid of excess bloat.

Cayenne- Cayanne gets its heat from the high concentration of capsaicin.  Capsaicin is recognized as an effective pain reliever, as a digestive and anti-ulcer aid and also produces cardiovascular benefits. Adding cayenne pepper, even in small amounts can help reduce symptoms of indigestion. . Cayenne pepper is known as increasing the body’s ability to burn fat, and who doesn’t want to burn more fat?

Lemon-Lemons are a great source of vitamin C and B6 as well as potassium, folic acid, flanoids, and phytochemical limonene.  Lemon can help aid in weight loss because of its benefits as a digestive aid, and it helps cleanse the liver. Lemons are also a great way to help your body fight infections and promote immunity.

 

 

About Mahi S

I was born on the island of Cyprus in 1971. For years, I lived the life of a nomad: I grew up in the Arab Gulf, finished high school in Cyprus, then went to the U.S. for five remarkable, life-changing years of study and work in public relations. With every change of home, I was confronted with the challenge of separation and the issue of identity, but ultimately the rewarding experience of interacting with people of different cultures has informed my life ever since. It inspired me to create an ideal setting wherever I found myself, to live meaningfully and use passion as the main ingredient in my life. I run to keep myself motivated and to fire the kind of creative thinking that keeps me balanced and content. But it’s also an ongoing challenge: since 1999, I have completed 17 half-marathons, which I try to run in a different city every time. In fact, running and travel are the two pillars of my life philosophy: “Travel is fascinating, whether it’s about a series of mesmerizing destinations or a journey within myself”. “Running keeps me sane, motivated and focused!” Right now, I am focusing on promoting my new book, ‘A squirrel in your kitchen’ an e-cookbook with quick, easy and delicious recipes (and anecdotes) from dearest friends around the world. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AYXN500. I am also hoping to experience the fascinating challenge of a full marathon in 2016; in Athens or New York. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

