a birthday run

Standard
bday
On Sunday, April 21- my birthday- I woke up with a whopping smile as flashbacks of the most awesome surprise birthday party came to mind. In my adamancy to celebrate my birthday this year, my dearest of friends chose to celebrate ME instead in the most remarkable way which touched my heart and soul. A culinary theme, the most genuine smiles and the warmest hugs were there to greet me. I felt blessed, grateful and extremely happy to have such special friends in my life. Hence, the enduring smile on the day of my birthday.
 
What’s more, I was thrilled at the idea of spending the morning of my birthday running the 12 km Klirou-Atovrisi Challenge, organized by Dro.Me.A. Racing, in the picturesque village of Klirou! My dad joined in as a race marshal while my fellow runner and friend of heart, Maria, surprised me by coming along and dedicating this run to me. I couldn’t be a happier birthday girl!
FTIMK
 
We started running through a 7km-hilly terrain, which was incredibly challenging, especially since I hadn’t done a lot of hill training in the previous weeks. Yet, the stunning scenery in the woods amidst pine trees and gorgeous wild flowers, coupled with the cool breeze and magnificent energy of fellow runners made it so enjoyable.
naturenature4
 
The last 5kms were flat and I felt like I was on a fluffy cloud, in a tranquil yet elated state of being- physically, mentally and spiritually. A real bliss indeed…
FTIMahiSolomou4
 
I completed the race and was greeted by two cyclist friends, and role models in fitness and wellness. They are both what I call ‘warriors of life’ as they have such a holistic approach to life which has inspired me for years. Many smiles and photos later, I finally exhaled and picked up the microphone, as there was more to this race, larger than my birthday…
 
This race was supported by Fit to Inspire (FTI), an inspirational community spanning across different countries, that fosters fitness, wellbeing, friendship and laughter amongst women (and not only!) around the world, whatever shape they are in. Founded by Rebeca Plantier, a dear college friend who never ceases to inspire me, amaze me and impress me, FTI believes that fitness and wellbeing should be accessible to all women, no matter what their fitness level, and embraces the concept of inspiring one another and exercising together to achieve a healthier lifestyle.
 
‘How many people finished this race with a smile?’ my voice echoed while cheerful yeay’s followed. ‘And how many of you think that you have inspired at least one person today through your running or love for sports?’ I went on, only to hear even more cheers. ‘Stay tuned with FTI and connect with an international community of fellow runners, exchange health, fitness, dietary information, and inspiring stories!’ I wrapped up, while I made a mental toast to running and great friends who add a touch of spice to my life!
About Mahi S

I was born on the island of Cyprus in 1971. For years, I lived the life of a nomad: I grew up in the Arab Gulf, finished high school in Cyprus, then went to the U.S. for five remarkable, life-changing years of study and work in public relations. With every change of home, I was confronted with the challenge of separation and the issue of identity, but ultimately the rewarding experience of interacting with people of different cultures has informed my life ever since. It inspired me to create an ideal setting wherever I found myself, to live meaningfully and use passion as the main ingredient in my life. I run to keep myself motivated and to fire the kind of creative thinking that keeps me balanced and content. But it’s also an ongoing challenge: since 1999, I have completed 17 half-marathons, which I try to run in a different city every time. In fact, running and travel are the two pillars of my life philosophy: “Travel is fascinating, whether it’s about a series of mesmerizing destinations or a journey within myself”. “Running keeps me sane, motivated and focused!” Right now, I am focusing on promoting my new book, ‘A squirrel in your kitchen’ an e-cookbook with quick, easy and delicious recipes (and anecdotes) from dearest friends around the world. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AYXN500. I am also hoping to experience the fascinating challenge of a full marathon in 2016; in Athens or New York. We’ll see!

One response »

  1. You are so amazing mahi – so glad you had a great birthday! And thank you for all you have done for FTI already! This whole project would not be possible without my friends and dear believers. It is all coming together little by little. Tomorrow will send you list of things you can do for FTI starting in May. Is May 1st a good day to start? My launch date is june 20th for a skinny website but need to have enough material ready so we can change the site several times a week at the least. I have another question – how are you with social media – fb, twitter, pinterest, linkedin, youtube? Can you skype tomorrow either morning or afternoon?

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

