chasing a lizard at the Troodos Challenge

Standard
Troodos3
 
By 8am on Sunday, Troodos square was bustling with enthusiastic runners and cyclists, getting ready for the most talked about race of the summer.  I was told that the Troodos 15k Challenge would be a grueling, yet fascinating course to explore, I was cautioned to watch out for stones and roots while I was also promised that it would be memorable. I was READY, or so I thought…
 
the 1st 5k: The race took off at 9am and after a few hundred meters, we were greeted with a steep, slippery hill which prompted most runners to start walking. ‘So that’s what they meant by serious hill work?’ I asked, and my fellow runner grinned: ‘this is nothing compared to the climb to Mount Olympus.’  At 1952 meters high, Mount Olympus is the highest point on the island of Cyprus, and the mere thought of accomplishing that, was enough to get my adrenaline sky high. Having climbed that first hill, I was happy to see a flat terrain… but not for long. I picked up a faster pace while a fellow runner’s words echoed in my ears: ‘Make sure to keep your feet high off the ground so as not to stomp on stones and tree roots.’ As I hopped around like a rabbit, I realized how priceless that advice was. Minutes later, I was face to face with the most abrupt slope… Jolly bunny rabbit soon turned into a nervous chicken and for minutes I simply froze. ‘That’s the steepest ski slope,’ someone said, to which I replied, ‘yes, without the snow..!’ Walking down that hill seemed endless, and that’s when I lost sight of every runner.
Troodos1
 
the lizard at the 6th k: ‘Pssst…! Do you want me to show you around my kingdom?’ I thought I heard a brown-striped lizard whisper. So I began to run a little faster through the most gorgeous rugged terrain amongst pine, olive and oak trees. ‘What a breathtaking landscape and panoramic views to all corners of Cyprus,’ I thought, while a minor slip reminded me to keep my strides well above the ground.
Troodos7
 
12th k: On the 12th k, right after a refreshing water stop and cheering by the Dro.Me.A. marshals, I was thrilled to finally get a glimpse of other runners. As I looked up to see which runners were in front of me, I forgot all about the stone alert and fell face down, becoming one with the red soil. Ouch! Seconds later, the First Aid was with me, and following a thorough clean up of my scraped  knees and elbows, I was back on those trails. A friend’s encouraging advice resounded in my ears… ‘Remember to keep smiling, with and without pain.’ And so I did.
Troodos9
 
Another hard fall on the 14th k and a little after 2 hours, I completed this 15k challenge with tens of fellow runners cheering for me at the finish line. Who can beat that awesome feeling of completing a race and being embraced so warmly by so many people?
 
It’s all about the love for running, coupled with the beauty of sharing this exceptional runners’ spirit. The Troodos race surely had its share of challenges, yet it was that magnificent journey leading to the race, which made it so exceptional… And it was moments captured through that journey which kept me going to the finish line.
 
My journey included:
–      training with a great team (thank you Dro.Me.A. for your guidance and precious tips).
–      Running buddies for life (cheers Maria and Coach).
–      Words of encouragement to smile with or without pain (thank you dear warrior!)
 
Above all, I decided to embark on this specific journey as a personal dedication to a very Special Lady. A Phenomenal Lady who kept ‘walking’ despite the countless challenges in her path. A Lady, who simply stole my heart with her genuine smile, beautiful heart and gracious warrior’s spirit. My dearest Kika, I could feel your presence throughout this race and I am presenting my medal along with the beautiful energies, which this run has left upon me, to your lovely family.
Troodos6
About Mahi S

I was born on the island of Cyprus in 1971. For years, I lived the life of a nomad: I grew up in the Arab Gulf, finished high school in Cyprus, then went to the U.S. for five remarkable, life-changing years of study and work in public relations. With every change of home, I was confronted with the challenge of separation and the issue of identity, but ultimately the rewarding experience of interacting with people of different cultures has informed my life ever since. It inspired me to create an ideal setting wherever I found myself, to live meaningfully and use passion as the main ingredient in my life. I run to keep myself motivated and to fire the kind of creative thinking that keeps me balanced and content. But it’s also an ongoing challenge: since 1999, I have completed 17 half-marathons, which I try to run in a different city every time. In fact, running and travel are the two pillars of my life philosophy: “Travel is fascinating, whether it’s about a series of mesmerizing destinations or a journey within myself”. “Running keeps me sane, motivated and focused!” Right now, I am focusing on promoting my new book, ‘A squirrel in your kitchen’ an e-cookbook with quick, easy and delicious recipes (and anecdotes) from dearest friends around the world. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AYXN500. I am also hoping to experience the fascinating challenge of a full marathon in 2016; in Athens or New York. We’ll see!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

