a run for my dad

Standard
paphos2013
 
Running is the most liberating feeling I have ever experienced. Running keeps me focused, motivated and happy. With running every life’s challenge becomes easier…. with running, creativity starts flowing.
 
I would like to share a personal story with you about the power of running. This Xmas season was different from other years. My dad was presented with a health challenge and the festive spirit suddenly went into pause for my family. Fear and anxiety prevailed. But my daddy’s spirit remained intact. He told me he was ready to start training for his first 10k and asked me for a pair of new running shoes as a gift.How can one beat that spirit? I instantly had flashbacks of my ½ marathon in November when daddy held my hand in those last 100 meters when my body failed me. It was my turn to run for him and bring into light my best of energies for his recovery.

 
I run through the breathtaking setting of Athalassa park. It was just me and lovely nature, breathing in the fresh air, feeling refreshed, focused, inspired and rejuvenated. The words POWER and FAITH echoed in my heart and I knew right there that everything would be fine. 
 
ForTheLoveofRunningJoin me in raising a glass to daddy’s gracious spirit
On Saturday, January 18
At Athalassa Park (Latsia Entrance: play area/kiosk)
3.30 Run/walk
4.30 Healthy Bites and a Conversation with Dad

PS: You don’t need to be a runner… just join me for the love of life.

About Mahi S

I was born on the island of Cyprus in 1971. For years, I lived the life of a nomad: I grew up in the Arab Gulf, finished high school in Cyprus, then went to the U.S. for five remarkable, life-changing years of study and work in public relations. With every change of home, I was confronted with the challenge of separation and the issue of identity, but ultimately the rewarding experience of interacting with people of different cultures has informed my life ever since. It inspired me to create an ideal setting wherever I found myself, to live meaningfully and use passion as the main ingredient in my life. I run to keep myself motivated and to fire the kind of creative thinking that keeps me balanced and content. But it’s also an ongoing challenge: since 1999, I have completed 17 half-marathons, which I try to run in a different city every time. In fact, running and travel are the two pillars of my life philosophy: “Travel is fascinating, whether it’s about a series of mesmerizing destinations or a journey within myself”. “Running keeps me sane, motivated and focused!” Right now, I am focusing on promoting my new book, ‘A squirrel in your kitchen’ an e-cookbook with quick, easy and delicious recipes (and anecdotes) from dearest friends around the world. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AYXN500. I am also hoping to experience the fascinating challenge of a full marathon in 2016; in Athens or New York. We’ll see!

4 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on Patinios's Blog and commented:
    Αν δεν δημιουργούμε δεν υπάρχουμε , η αγωνιζόμασταν η καθόμαστε και κλαίμε την μοίρα μας «τρεχω αρα υπαρχω»

Leave a Reply

